Squash “Noodles”

Like all foodies I love a good kitchen gadget, especially one that helps me incorporate more vegetables into my meal.  My newest is a spiral slicer which creates long, delicious ribbons of the firm veggie of your choice.

DSC00627

So far I have made “noodles”  with zucchini, carrot and tonight was yellow squash (have to utilize the basket goods whenever you can :))  There are many things that you can do with the noodles.  You could eat them raw and dress them with a vinaigrette (for example cucumbers in a rice vinegar and sesame dressing would be amazing) or you can steam, boil, sauté or even roast them.  Normally I mix them in with regular pasta to fill it out, add more fiber and sneak in those veggies.  To do this you will boil your pasta as directed and then add your veggie ribbons the last two or three minutes with the pasta (carrots I usually do for three and squash around two).  After I drain the pasta I usually mix it with a jarred spaghetti sauce and sometimes add in some extras like sautéed mushrooms.  Tonight I went for a quick and healthy version of chicken parmesan by topping my sauced pasta with a frozen, lightly breaded chicken breast and a sprinkle of cheese.  I have the GEFU Spirelli Spiral Cutter but there are several other brands on the market.  With so many possibilities expect to see veggie ribbons play a roll in future blogs!

healthy chicken parmesan with yellow squash noodles

healthy chicken parmesan with yellow squash noodles

Leave a Reply

