Bellytastic Weekend!

A healthy lifestyle isn’t just eating right it’s also about getting out and moving.  One form of moving that I enjoy is belly dancing.  I have been belly dancing for the last year and I absolutely LOVE it.  Dance has always been a large part of my life.  Growing up I started with ballet and over the years I added on tap and jazz but ballet was always my favorite.  As time went on my body decided to no longer play nice and I have some knee issues that aren’t very compatible with ballet.  About a year ago a group of friends and I decided that it would be fun to try something new and take a belly dance class through the local community college.  Needless to say I fell in love and continued to study with the teacher, Kathryn Ferguson, at Xanadu Dance Studios.

bellyThis weekend was full of dance with a dance party Friday night, a show on Saturday night and a workshop today.  Friday night was just a small party with some performances for dancers to get acquainted and to meet the guest performer and work shop leader Frank Farinaro.  It was in the Cabaret Theater at the Temple of Music and Art and was a lot of fun.  The next day was a big showcase called Mediterranean Nights with several groups performing several types of dance and performances.  Some of the highlights were Dr. Costa who was one of the most talented guitar players I have ever seen, Ava Mendez an amazing belly dancer, several dance troupes and of course Frank!  If you want to see some fantastic dance check out this video of Frank Farinaro on YouTube.  Today was a workshop taught by Frank.  The first part of the workshop was working on pops, locks and pendulum movements.  A lot of these isolations were new to me and challenging but in a good way.  The second class was all about brining the traditional belly dancing back to belly dance.  He spoke about how a lot of dancers use so much fusion in their “belly dance” that they end up losing the roots and he demonstrated ways to bring it back in.  As I was watching the video I linked above again I actually noticed one of the steps that we reviewed and went over in class.  It was a great experience and an absolutely amazing first workshop for me to start with.  I look forward to many more in the future.  Obviously I would highly suggest to all of you to try out a class and see what you think but the truly important thing is not that you try belly dance but that you get out and move, belly dance is just a fun way to do it 🙂

Leave a Reply

